Alumni Association honors outstanding NC State faculty

April 15, 2011
By Bill Krueger

The Alumni Association is honoring 18 NC State professors for their excellent work in the classroom, the laboratory and the field. The professors will be recognized at a reception at the Dorothy and Roy Park Alumni Center at 5 p.m. on May 5.

The winners of the 2011 Faculty Awards are:

Alumni Association Distinguished Undergraduate Professors

  • Medwick Byrd | Department of Forest Biomaterials | College of Natural Resources
  • Cynthia L. Istook | Department of Textiles and Apparel, Technology and Management | College of Textiles
  • Bong-Il Jin | Department of Graphic Design and Industrial Design | College of Design
  • Russell E. King | E.P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering | College of Engineering
  • James A. Knopp | Department of Molecular and Structural Biochemistry | College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Janet F. Spears | Department of Crop Science | College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professors

  • Hugh A. Devine | Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management | Department of Natural Resources
  • John J. Seater | Department of Economics | Poole College of Management

Alumni Association Outstanding Research Awards

  • Alexander Deiters | Department of Chemistry | College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Tony K. Stewart | Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies | College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Orlin D. Velev | Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering | College of Engineering

Alumni Association Outstanding Extension and Outreach Awards

  • John C. Begeny | Department of Psychology | College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • David Hinks | Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science | College of Textiles
  • Lukasz M. Mazur | Business Development | Industrial Extension Service

Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Awards

  • Kofi Boone | Department of Landscape Architecture | College of Design
  • Christopher J. Crosbie | Department of English | College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Chad V. Jordan | Department of Plant Biology | College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Dudley M. Marchi | Department of Foreign Languages and Literature | College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *